It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:42 pm


All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:08 pm 
The New Guy

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:41 pm
Posts: 29
Could anyone tell me more about this set of Comtacs? I've been searching for more info but hit a dead end, I don't recognise the mic, particularly at the connecting end.
I'd really appreciate any information :)

Attachment:
Nb96MB9.jpg
Nb96MB9.jpg [ 83.64 KiB | Viewed 3270 times ]
Attachment:
Mo7jlmQ.jpg
Mo7jlmQ.jpg [ 181.33 KiB | Viewed 3270 times ]
Attachment:
mDrxYyI.jpg
mDrxYyI.jpg [ 102.61 KiB | Viewed 3270 times ]


Last edited by Dechande on Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:38 pm 
I can't work for assholes
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:34 am
Posts: 807
Location: Not Norway
Seriously? It's a standard Comtac 3 (Comtac XP if you're in Europe).. It's the standard mic (Goose Neck Mic, missing the foam cover) and standard plug (I don't know the proper name, I've heard anything from Nexus to NATO).

My old Swattac 2s have the exact same setup, and all the Comtacs I've seen always have that plug and mic (except for those boommic setups). I'm 100% sure it's the most common set up out there.

Edit: This might be wrong, but here is the product number (pulled from Equipnor, reminds me of my product number): PMT17H682P3AD-19B

_________________
Nora Tactical


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:00 am 
The New Guy

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:41 pm
Posts: 29
Thanks. I thought that was the case, however, comms equipment is not my forte.
All the pics I have seen of comtac mics look different to these, usually like this:
Image


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:41 am 
I can't work for assholes
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:34 am
Posts: 807
Location: Not Norway
Remove the foam and you have the same mic...

_________________
Nora Tactical


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:03 am 
The New Guy

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:41 pm
Posts: 29
essal wrote:
Remove the foam and you have the same mic...


As I wrote originally, I'm referring to the mount end, not the foam end.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:08 am 
Earning his keep

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:54 pm
Posts: 269
Location: London, UK
The boom mic is the older one as seen on the original Comtac and Comtac 2, model number MT21.

The Comtac ACH usually comes with the MT31, as seen on the picture you posted in your second post

Performance wise you might have impedance issues (your outgoing transmissions will be inaudible/very quiet to those listening in) with the MT21 if using PMR or civilian radios. The MT31 is better for this but still not the best.

Amplification circuit is a common remedy for this, either wired in a PTT or headset itself. It's also possible to just buy the boom microphone off a Chinese Copy of the headset and do a straight swap. The polarity of the microphone plug is reversed though so you have to plug it in upside down, but it works with no problems.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:33 pm 
The New Guy

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:41 pm
Posts: 29
Thanks tangman, much appreciated.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help id'ing headset please?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 12:17 pm 
The New Guy

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:41 pm
Posts: 29
Posting this in case it helps anyone else.
I've had a pair of Sordin Supreme Pro for years that I've been using with a Nexus PTT and Kenwood 2 pin radio (TK-3101).
I recently got a pair of Comtac III, as expected, my PTT didn't work with them.
I found a Peltor PTT for a Kenwood 2 pin on their website (about £150) and contacted Peltor to make sure it would work before buying.
After many emails to back and forth, they said the Comtac III would need to be sent to their HQ to be rewired for £50 (which I thought was reasonable).
However, my father just bought a pair of Sordin Supreme Pro with Nexus PTT, he mentioned that the place he got them told him the new Sordins were wired for NATO/Milspec and were previously 'civilian wired' (unless you requested otherwise, depending on model).
I tried his PTT on the Comtac III, and it worked perfectly. So I've avoided the rewire, and the Nexus PTT was only £100 compared to Peltor's £150, saving £100.
The PTT came from Tom at 'Starkey's headsets', who were very helpful.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki